Okim`s Studios Forum Index

Okim`s Studios

Welcome to Okim`s Forums!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Moding help request. New armor addon, and more.
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Okim`s Studios Forum Index -> UFO Aftershock ACM
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
acqsen



Reputation: 0    

Joined: 19 Dec 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:46 pm    Post subject: Moding help request. New armor addon, and more. Reply with quote

Hey Okim, i am your fan since the ACMod for Ufo Aftershock.
Big, deadly, fun.
Have been trying to do some minor changes myself. I am stuck at adding new slots for heavy armor. Cant do it.

I have added the correct lines to heavy armor section of the equipment.txt, but the slot got broken, not visible at all. I know it can be done, its working for heavy armor in CombatMod.

Any help is appreciated.

----update
The combatmod includes file inventory.txt, there one can find lines for heavy armor, which is moded in Combatmod to have 2 mod slots: helmet and another slot. I have included the inventory.txt in acmod. Launched, tried to mod powered armor, got crash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Okim



Reputation: +1    

Joined: 26 Aug 2012
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was a long since i modded UFO AS. As far as i know there is another file that controls slots. The one that contains attachements to weapons.

You should look how armour is done there. I do remember doing smth with drones, but i can`t recall what i did exactly. Sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acqsen



Reputation: 0    

Joined: 19 Dec 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i know about the attachments file. Unfortunately its not where my problem is. Even using attachments already used in another armor is not working in new armor. There must be some other file, probably inventory.txt.

Thanks for help anyway. Good luck with Starfarer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Okim



Reputation: +1    

Joined: 26 Aug 2012
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is that heavy armor model may not contain the proper 'nodes' for new slots. It has just one slot - helmet.

You can use meshconverter to convert medium and heavy armour models to txt format. Then open medium armour model in notepad. It should have more attachment helpers than heavy - copy the required ones and paste them into heavy armour.

Then using meealov`s utility you can load the heavy armour and adjust the position of the newly added node.

Then you should edit attachments and items files and add there your new heavy armour slot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silentype2121



Reputation: 0    

Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HI i wonder if you can point me int the right direction. Im trying to do a mini mod for UFO Aftershock to affect chance to hit percentage. See i want my squad to shoot at a target even if the chance to hit is zero. Or also if they target runs behind an object. Im searching through the gamedata files after extracting the vfs. And im getting a bit over my head. So i just need to kno if this possible and where is the best place for me to start looking.
Your reply will be greatly appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Okim



Reputation: +1    

Joined: 26 Aug 2012
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I`m afraid that this is hardcoded. At least i never saw anything related to AI behavior (including your soldiers).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silentype2121



Reputation: 0    

Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silentype2121



Reputation: 0    

Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Is it possible to increase vision distance of all units via modding?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Okim



Reputation: +1    

Joined: 26 Aug 2012
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to find a file that describes all the factions and units. Can`t recall where exactly that file is and wheather you actually can change visibility ranges. I do remember some values for detection which is what you may need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silentype2121



Reputation: 0    

Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so ill start looking through gamedata.vfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Okim



Reputation: +1    

Joined: 26 Aug 2012
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, i really would like to be more precise, but i have no UFO on my PC for more than a couple of years Улыбка
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silentype2121



Reputation: 0    

Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

O thts ok im not new to modding so i can figure out stuff if i just get pointed in the right direction. I actually found the file already. Gamedata/share/configs/units/det_const.txt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silentype2121



Reputation: 0    

Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just one last question. is it possibe to make the different stances affect accuracy? Like crouch would give better chance to hit than standing up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Okim



Reputation: +1    

Joined: 26 Aug 2012
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that this is already in the game. If not - there is probably no way to do that. Most games have he majority of their data hardcoded (hidden in exe or othe files that can`t be accessed directly).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silentype2121



Reputation: 0    

Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Okim`s Studios Forum Index -> UFO Aftershock ACM All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
You can create forum for free on MyBB2.ru, RSS